Beauty · Makeup · Review · Wet n Wild

Wet n Wild® Velvet Matte Lip Color

Alright, let’s jump right into some reviews because I recently bought a whole bunch of wonderful goodies from CVS and Walgreens.

Before that I’d like to make a little shout out to my local drugstores to always being there when I’m broke and need makeup. Although, I do occasionally buy high end I love being able to rely on some good old drugstore products to get me through life.

Now, Wet n Wild has been around forever, and it was the cheap stuff that my mom would buy me in high school but recently, I’ve found some pretty awesome goodies from them, and each one deserves their own review.

This is a Wet n Wild matte lip crayon that I got from Walgreens. The product is a twist up/retractable which is nice because I hate sharpeners.

  • Retail Price: $3.49 + Tax
  • Shade:Hickory Smoked

Now, the first thing I want to say about this lippie, and this goes for lots and lots of products, the cap color is a deceiving little creature. I was expecting a brown shade with pink under tones or at least a nude/mauve if that makes sense . Not the case, the color is  is pretty different, it’s not super bright, but it’s not the color I thought I was getting. Here’s a swatch on my hand.

IMG_3366

Next to the cap you can see that it’s definitely not the color you’d expect.

I have light/medium skin since its summer time and I’ve got a little tan, I should note that I have pink undertones as well, so I’m actually still happy with the color. ONWARD! TO THE FORMULA!!!

This goes on incredibly smooth and even, I love the pencil/crayon format because it gives me control, my lips are a little weirdly shaped so it makes it easy to get the color only where I want it. I really love that about this product and I think after the color shock it was a nice redeeming factor.

Now, when I think matte crayon/lipstick, I never expect a completely matte finish, especially from a drugstore product. This product was a pleasant surprise, it wasn’t completely matte but it was pretty darn close. “Geeze Divina, make up your mind!” Yeah I know. I love matte lippies, truly matte lippies, but this comes close, the color is beautiful, nicely pigmented. I like it and I think for $3.49 I can’t imagine why I wouldn’t like it.

Here’s a swatch on my lips after wearing it for a couple hours and freshly reapplied right after in that order haha. Ignore my blemish , I didn’t use foundation today blah.

It smells like a crayon, it’s a very faint scent, so I didn’t mind

So, would I tell all my friends to go out and buy this product right now? No, probably not. Will I recommend it as a nice budget lip crayon in a pinch? Yes. The color pay off is nice, it lasts quite a while, even through eating, it does feather quickly  but that could possibly be solved through some mattifying powder or lip primer, I’ll have to try. Touch ups are easy I will probably go back and pick up the rest of the colors, there were 6 I believe, they’re nice to have and cool for when my neices come to visit and they wanna play with titi’s makeup.

Pros:

  • Cheap
  • Nicely Pigmeted
  • Easy to control

Cons:

  • Color isn’t what I expected
  • Feathers quickly
  • Fades after a couple of hours
  • Faint Crayon scent.

Will I Continue to Use it? Yes.

Recommend it? Yes. It’s $3.49 COME ON.

4/5 Hearts ♥♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

