Beauty · Crafting · Makeup · Maybelline · Review

Maybelline® Dream Velvet Soft-Matte Hydrating Foundation

**  Before I start, I feel like I should mention that I’m not a professional makeup artist, I’m just an plebeian; a normal young woman who loves her makeup. So keep in mind when reading these reviews, that my opinion is just that, a personal opinion and I am in no way endorsed by any of these places or brands. Cool? Okay awesome.**

When I go out to buy foundation, which is rare, I usually go for glass bottles, where I can see the product. When I went to my local Walgreens the other day though, I saw Maybelline’s Dream Velvet Soft-Matte Hydrating Foundation. Wow, that product name sure is a mouthful. The products hadn’t been touched yet, the stand newly set up with each shade in full stock. The display and the name and the cute little tube, I wanted it. I quickly googled some swatches and figured I’d go with #40, which is in Nude.


Price: $10.99 + tax at Walgreens. (I believe it’s only $8.99 at Target though)

Shade: Nude #40

This product is another where the color on the cap and the bottle are out to get you. Even when you dab the product onto your skin it looks like a completely different color when blended out. This is a pinch too light for my medium, pink under-toned skin but I decided to keep it because it matches my neck pretty well and blended out with bronzer and all that, it looks nice. It’ll be excellent for the winter when I lose my color haha.

I’ll show you the product on my hand and then blended on my face. I like that it’s not super drying, I have some dry skin that foundation tends to cling onto, and this doesn’t do that so much.  It also doesn’t feel like I’m wearing anything. It’s just so soft and really does feel velvety. As I write this I’ve been wearing it for about 7 1/2 hours and it still looks pretty good. My oily spots started coming through at about 5 hours, but that’s ok, nothing that some powder won’t fix. It was pretty hot so the sweat probably played a part in that. Combo skin is definitely a pain in the butt. How can my skin be a desert in some areas and in others looks like I slathered on some Mazola?

ahhh yes the undereye wrinkles…haha, you can also see some of that dry skin on my forehead.
Anyway, I applied it over Maybelline’s Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser, and then added some bronzer (Benefit’s Hoola: Highly Recommend), concealer and some setting powder, I’m sure that prolonged the look of the product but all in all I still think it wore well through out the day given that it was so warm out.

Final Thoughts:

This foundation is creamy, lightweight and blends REALLY nicely.It’s not full coverage, but it’s decent and you can build it if you want a heavier application. Honestly, the amount of product, the feel, the wear…I can totally see myself using the entire tube and  even going back for another. Coming from someone who usually just uses BB cream, I think it’s a great product.

Pros:

  • Lightweight
  • Blends nicely
  • Under $15
  • Lovely, creamy formula
  • Lasts quite a while without a touch up compared to other drugstore foundations

Cons:

  • Picking your color is hard 😦
  • Not full coverage (but buildable)
  • Will cling to dry skin
  • The tube gets dirty very eaily (I hate looking at dirty tubes of makeup, don’t you?)

Would I recommend it? YES!

Will I buy it again? Yes, most likely this will be my go to as far as drugstore foundation goes.

4/5 Hearts ♥♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

