Beauty · E.L.F Cosmetics · Review · Wet n Wild

Mini Target Haul

*This isn’t really a “haul” but I figured I’d just review the three products I bought all on the same post to consolidate things. *

So, I was at Target a couple of days ago trying picking up some things for my dog and I just happened to stroll down the makeup isle. Who am I kidding, by the time I got my cart I had already forgotten why I was there. Anyway, while I was looking around I figured I’d see what was new, they had a whole bunch of new E.L.F products, but not much of anything else. There were quite a few things I wanted from the E.L.F section but I only got one, and decided I’d wait until next paycheck to go crazy. So expect an E.L.F haul very soon.

These are the three items I bought:

  1. E.L.F. Under Eye Concealer & Highlighter
  2. PerfectPair Ombré Lip Wand
  3. NYC ( New York Color) Smooth Skin Perfecting Primer

Let’s get right into it!

E.L.F. Under Eye Concealer & Highlighter

This concealer and Highlighter duo was $3, not bad. It’s E.L.F so I had faith.

The concealer is pretty sheer so there’s not a lot of coverage there but It’s a nice formula, very smooth. If you don’t struggle with dark circles then this could be great for you. I do soooooo, there goes that. Maybe for a “I don’t wanna wear lots of makeup today” day, I don’t know. I tried it twice, and I got the same sheer results, which sucks because again, I had faith. The concealer is actually a little sparkly, which is weird. I wasn’t expecting that, and it’s definitely something I don’t look for in a concealer.

The Highlighter portion was basically just little flecks of ultra fine glitter. I guess the little pieces are supposed to reflect light to make your under eye area look brighter? I don’t know. Again, very sheer, I didn’t really see much of anything until I added lots more product, but it mostly all disappeared after I blended it out.

Final Thoughts:

The only good thing about this product for me was the lightweight formula. It blends out and leaves your skin feeling really soft. The downside, it’s sheer, the concealer is sparkly, the highlighter is basically nothing. My camera won’t pick up the shimmer so I won’t bother posting a picture. Anyway, I’ll use it up because I don’t like to waste, but I wont be buying it again.

Would I recommend it? No

Will I buy it again? No

PerfectPair Ombré Lip Wand


I decided to check the Wet n Wild section, because I’ve been having so much luck with them, and I needed a new nude lippie. I ended up picking up the PerfectPair Ombré Lip Wand in the Shade Sisters in Charms.

The “wand” has two colors, a nice nude and a bright pink. I didn’t really need both sides, but I needed it and it was only $3.99. So I grabbed it along with a couple of other things and I checked out.

Here’s a swatch on my hand.


Now my hand is a little darker than my face so I figured at least the nude color would be okay, the pink I could already tell was going to be WAY too bright. It’s like bubblegum, like that bubblegum medicine that was like crack when you were younger. Remember, think back, you remember. I think it was for ear infections but I always told my mom I wanted another spoon liquid heaven. But I’m not sure how I feel about it on my lips.

The formula is REALLY creamy, but it’s SOOOOOOO streaky, so despite the nice color pay off, you have to keep going over it again and again. Once I finally got it on correctly it was fine, not sticky or drying but it did wash me out quite a bit.  I do like that it’s not super shiny or frosted. That’s nice at least.

As far as wear, I give it zero stars. It’s not advertised to be kiss or smudge proof but it just comes off so easily just by talking the color wears off.

 

Final Thoughts: The colors are nice but nothing you cant get in EVERY other brand. The formula is alright but streaky as hell and the product doesn’t last long at all.

 

Would I recommend it? No. Save a couple cents and just get one of their matte lippie crayons.

Would I buy it again? No. And I don’t even know if I will wear it again.

2/5 Hearts ♥♥

NYC ( New York Color) Smooth Skin Perfecting Primer


So I needed a new primer and I really didn’t have the money for the Too Faced one that I like (Too Faced Hangover Primer), and the didn’t have Maybelline’s Baby Skin, which I swear by, so I decided to try something new, and it would give me an excuse to review it…or maybe reviewing it was the excuse to buy it…that sounds much more appropriate haha. Well I saw that NYC’s stand was fairly bare, which means people have been buying it. So, maybe I should give their primer a shot. Now I usually don’t buy from NYC because I had a bad run in with one of their “matte” liquid lip colors. But that’s a story for another day. I always say I’ll try a brand at least three times before I totally knock ’em so, there I was staring at the primer for like 20 minutes, reading the ingredients like I knew what I was looking for. In the end I bought it because, why the hell not right?

WRONG! I hate…I can not stress this enough, I HATE this primer. It makes my skin feel tacky, and oily. Literally, after putting it on my skin, I can put my fingers against my cheek and feel my skin sticking together. EW. Also, the formula has little bits of shimmer in it. It’s hard to tell in some lighting but I look like a fairy ran into my face. I tried this 3 different times and I got the same results. Even after baking, contour, setting powder, the full shebam My skin feels sticky and oily. I hate it.

Would I recommend this product? Absolutely not!

Will I buy this product again? Never again.

0/5 Hearts

 

This haul was such a fail…:( hopefully next time I will get some great things to share with you guys. Anything you’d like me to try?

I also just want to add that my skin is my skin and just because a product  doesn’t work for me doesn’t mean it wont work for you. This is just my opinion. Have you tried any of these products? What do you think?

Leave a Reply

