Beauty · Kat Von D · Makeup · Review

Kat Von D MetalMatte Eyeshadow Palette


Price: $60 +tax at Sephora 
Hey lovelies! Happy November. Hope you all had a killer Halloween. So here’s a review I’ve been dying to do and I figured, there’s no time like the present! 

I got this as a surprise from my boyfriend a couple days before Halloween and I KNEW I’d use it for my look! The palette has total of 22 Eyeshadow shades. 13 matte shades and 9 metallic shades. 

Before I go any further I want to give you my very first impression of these shadows. 

Matte swatches from left to right: Linen, Jet, Velour, Stone, Moss, Ribbon, Silk, Fringe, Feather    

Matte swatches top to bottom: Oak, Suede, Bone, Velvet (velvet is my current favorite.)

Those are the Matte shades. To be honest with you the first picture required a lot of layering because the colors were so patchy. Granted they were just finger swatches so I’m not too upset. The last four were perfect without any layering at all. 

Here are the metallics.


Metal swatches left to right: Nebula, Watt, Ignite, Tinsel, Glitz, Twinkle, Volt, Synergy, Flash. 

These fingerswatches were PERFECT. absolutely stunning. I loved them so much. Super pigmented and very soft. 

Now, the colors (all 22) are very soft and very smooth. I was worried that the Mattes wouldn’t blend well but they do, with a brush. Incredibly well actually and they don’t blend away, they keep their pigmentation very well. 

The metals are amazing, best applied with your finger or a damp brush for the best results. They shimmer and shine all day long. 

My next point is long-wear. These last ALL DAY! I use a primer and a setting spray and these don’t move, crease or fade. AMAZING. 

Final Thoughts:

This palette has everything you need to create SO MANY looks. If it was smaller, it would be my travel palette because it has such a good combo of Mattes and Metal shades (Anyone know any good small travel palettes?) and there are colors for all year long. I find myself reaching for this EVERY day. Fingerswatches aside and minimal kickback, this is the perfect palette and I LOVE LOVE LOVE it! It’s definitely worth the $60. I wish it came with a brush though. 😦

Pros:

  • Great pigmentation
  • Lots of color options 
  • Smooth application 
  • Long wearing 
  • Beautiful packaging

Cons:

  • Patchy fingerswatches 
  • No brush
  • HUGE!
  • Little bit of kickback/fallout

5/5 Hearts! 💜💜💜💜💜

One thought on “Kat Von D MetalMatte Eyeshadow Palette

Leave a Reply

