Beauty · lippie · Makeup · Review · The Balm Cosmetics · Uncategorized

The Balm Cosmetics: Balm Jovi Rockstar Face Palette 

Hey lovlies,

Long time no see! If you don’t know, Im a junior in college so this time of year is always super hectic for me. While I haven’t been posting, I have been trying out so many new products, and quite a few drugstore goodies as well. Hopefully, I can have some reviews up tonight. In the mean time though let’s talk about this gorgeous palette. 


Price: $39.50 (online or at Duane Reades with a “Look Boutique”)
It has 12 eyeshadows, ( 4 metal, 4 Matte, 4 shimmers) a gold highlighter, a blush and two lip products. 

The Shadows:

These shadows are honestly so beautiful, when it comes to blending they beat every palette I own, yes even Kat’s (which I will be posting updated reviews on soon.) They are so creamy and pigmented and they don’t crease. These are perfect shadows for beginners because they blend so so beautifully and effortlessly, you don’t have to worry about streakiness or having harsh lines of color all over your lid. They have some kick back but not much fallout which I thought was weird but I’ll take it. Personally, I feel like this palette is best for people with light to medium-light complexions, but if you’re darker, just use a light colored base. 

Highlight/Blush:

I will never ever use this highlighter. It’s beautiful, gold and packs a punch but I just can’t see myself reaching for this palette for my face after I do my eyeshadow. Even though it’s a “face palette” I won’t be using it for much more than the eyeshadows which, in my opinion are worth the money on their own. I can see myself using the highlight  on my eyes though. 

Same goes for the blush. It’s a deep-peachy blush, a little chalky but still nice, but I won’t be reaching for it. It is pigmented and definitely useable and blends nicely, I just have other blushes, like my KVD shade + light ones, that I prefer. 

Lip Balms:

The balms in this palette are tinted. There’s a pink and a red, and they’re both pretty pigmented. I wore the red one once  so far and it’s okay, a little sticky but it’s ok for a subtle look. The downside to using these is that you can’t really touch up without taking the entire palette with you which sucks! For this reason alone, I won’t use these often, probably just for makeup looks/IG photos. Also, even though there is a magnetic flap to cover them, I just don’t think it’s enough to keep them protected from germs and fallout from the other products. 
Final Thoughts:

I really can’t say enough about this palette. It really is versatile and I love the eyeshadows so much more than I thought I would. The highlighter, blush and puppies are just a plus for me but even without them I would have been fine with just the shadows. If you’re looking for one palette to do the majority of your face or at least want to depot some things, I would definitely buy this palette. If not, I would grab it just for the eyeshadows. They’re very versatile and the colors coordinate very nicely. 
Pros:

  • Beautiful
  • Blendable 
  • Versatile 

Cons

  • Bulky
  • Too many products in one place
  • Not enough protection for the lip products. 

The shadows get 5/5 from me. 

The palette overall gets a 5/5 for design and versatility

But the other products get a 3/5 because I just know I won’t use them. 

One thought on “The Balm Cosmetics: Balm Jovi Rockstar Face Palette 

Leave a Reply

