Beauty · Makeup · Review · Ruby Kiss

RK Concealers and Correctors by Ruby Kiss

Hey lovelies, I hope you’re all doing awesome! Today I want to talk about a brand that has been around FOREVER. I’m talking, cheap dollar-store/beauty supply brand Ruby Kiss. As of late they’ve been quietly releasing new products and on my way to pick up the LA Girl Pro Concealers I found these!


They were $2.99 each at my local beauty supply store and I’ve actually seen them here and there quite a bit so I decided to pick them up. I’ve already used them on my face and I like them a lot. The shades are Light Nude and Orange. 
The pigmentation with the orange corrector is definitely there and I would suggest using a primer before hand because I feel like it’s tough to get off of bare skin when dry. That could just be what I was getting from my hand swatch though, just an warning! πŸ™‚

Dry time is pretty quick so make sure when you start blending it out, you do so quickly or it could potentially have some drag. This hasn’t happened to me yet but I feel that it could if you’re not quick. 

Now on my face the products don’t really show in pictures well do I decided to do a little test. Besides simply searching I did a side by side with my current favorite concealer (wet n wild photofocus) and I did a cover test over eyeliner. The purpose of this is simply to see how well they cover in comparison to one another because I know a lot of us use concealer to clean up a wing here and there. 

I also put the RK concealer over the orange corrector so you can see exactly how well they work together and how it would cover the orange pigment. Here’s what I found:

  1. RK Concealer (2 layers dabbed with finger) over eyeliner
  2. Wet n Wild Concealer (2 layers dabbed with finger) over eyeliner
  3. Orange RK Corrector swatch
  4. RK Concealer swatch
  5. RK Concealer over Orange Corrector (dabbed on with damp blender sponge)

1- the RK concealer has medium coverage and is buildable. 

2- the wet n Wild Concealer is similar in coverage and buildable. 

3- Orange corrected is pigmented AF and gives a nice, even, full coverage

4- RK Concealer has even coverage. No patches, blends easily with finger. 

5- RK successfully covers orange corrector and blends well with damp blender sponge. 

The RK products don’t crease under the eyes and long as you set them with a powder, at least for me. I use the Coty Air Spun Translucent Powder to bake after I apply any concealer and I love it. Make sure , no matter what you use, you set it regardless,  because it’s a LIIIIIITTLE bit tacky and it will crease if you don’t. You’ve been warned. 

Final Thoughts:

Overall I think the concealer is good for light to medium coverage. I’m definitely going to use this one up as I’m trying to test out new products so it gets my approval for now. 

The corrector has my full enthusiastic support. I love it and I’m going to grab the green one as well. I love the coverage and the pigmentation is REAL! They have other shades as well, for different skin tones so I highly recommend this guys.

Pros: 

  • Affordable
  • Great color selection
  • Medium (Concealer) to full coverage (Corrector)
  • Blends easily. 

Cons:

  • A little tacky
  • Sets quickly
  • Concealer isn’t FULL coverage but that’s not everyone’s jam so that’s ok. But for me…I need FUUUUUULLLLLL coverage. 

πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ 3/5 for the Concealer 

πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ 5/5 for the corrector. 
What’s your favorite concealer or corrector? Tell me in a comment! Also, should I start doing a monthly review of my favorite products? Let me know! And be sure to follow my Instagram (Vaiinightmare) to see all my weird antics and makeup adventures!!! πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ love you guys! 😘

Divina. 

Leave a Reply

